Cedar Ring Mama

Taking My Cues From Mother Earth

Beeswax Cookie Cutter Candles

5 Comments

Wow… over a month since I last posted!  Between my camera being on the fritz and all the holiday orders, it’s been a while.  But luckily I was able to get that camera to work on Friday for our homeschool co-op, and Mama Monica and I tried a craft I’d seen a in library book and wanted to do for a while.  It’s a new take on using beeswax candles sheets, and with the holidays approaching and a plethora of cookie cutters filling the super market, it seemed like the perfect time to make cute candles using cutouts of beeswax sheets…

Just make 6-8 cutouts with a cookie cutter that has a relatively flat bottom or can reasonably stand up (ie, candy canes and hearts won’t really work!).  Sandwich your wick in the middle, press together, and you’ve got some simple, beautiful candles!

934_4044

934_4045

934_4047

934_4046

(This is Mama Monica’s Advent table with crystals to represent the mineral elements.  I love the little roving angel she made for her Advent star ribbon from All Year Round…)

rovingangel

934_4052

I think this cardinal is my favorite!

Cardinal

Last year I started the Advent spiral tradition, and this year I added Mary on her donkey.  There is something so graceful about her, and something so wonderful to reflect on for me as I carry my own unborn child towards his or her destiny.

MaryJourney

How’s your holiday crafting going? I’ve started a bit of crafting over here… but haven’t finished anything yet, as the holiday orders for Cedar Ring Circle have kept me busy.  Starting at midnight last night the annual “cleaning out the cabinets” sale began- all the “extras” I have left at the end of the year from co-op orders, and I think 3/4 of the cabinets have been cleaned out already (and with the proceeds of the sale I am getting a new camera so I can get back to blogging more regularly- yea!).   There are a few things left- especially if you’re a beeswax candle lover like me, including a few beeswax sheets with wicking left as well as some holiday rolled candle kits, and some great new wool felt (just $1.56 per sheet with the sale!).  Use the code WINTER20 to take an additional 20% off already discounted items in the SALE! category.  Everything will ship this week.

5 thoughts on “Beeswax Cookie Cutter Candles

  1. Love the candles. I’m thinking of making these. My boys would love it. We have a Mary & Joesph traveling as well. Lots of Ornaments crafting here & for my shop. Now I really need to get crafting for my family! Bendy dolls, for sure! Hope you are well!

  2. Amazing…you are truly amazing. Thank you so much for sharing so much, but especially for the candle idea. I want to make these with the children for everyone I know! What great and whimsical holiday decorations. I need to figure out how to pin your blog to this on Pinterest. Heading to Pennsylvania now for one of Jai’s interviews then to NJ to visit family. I’ll try when I get back.

    Warmly,

    Susie

  3. Dear Becca,

    This is such a great idea! Perfect for someone who’s not so crafty, but is still a homemade gift (ok, barely). How did you add the beak and eye details on the cardinal? Did I mention that I’m not very crafty?

    I’m thinking of you as we head towards January and the arrival of your baby nears.

    Have a great day,
    Samantha

Leave a Reply

