Cedar Ring Mama

Taking My Cues From Mother Earth

Beeswax Flower Candle Tutorial and Giveaway

167 Comments

Ahhh… new colors in beeswax sheets!  I just ordered more for my shop, and could not resist playing with them myself.  Many people think of rolled candles when they think of beeswax sheets; but their flexibility and the natural stickiness of the wax lend them to so many creative possibilities beyond a simple taper! So, roll up your sleeves and get ready for a little candle art.

To make stunning beeswax flower candles, gather up a few supplies…

  • Candleholders (I used the brass holders that fit in birthday rings and advent spirals)
  • Cutting Board
  • Knife and/or Scissors
  • Wooden Skewer
  • Wick
  • Flower Cookie Cutters (check out the baking/cake making section of the craft store)
  • Beeswax Sheets (greens for stems and leaves; bright flower colors for petals)
  • A Cute Helper

CandleTut2

Start cutting out your beeswax flower shapes.  You may want to help your child choose the most judicious spacing of where to cut, so you have the least amount of scraps.  Scraps can be saved and melted down for future candle making- I like to use little molds like this and make floating candles for special occasions in a rainbow of colors.

CandleTut3a

After pressing down firmly on the first side, carefully flip your sheet over and press the wax downward over the cutter to ensure a clean cut.

CandleTut4

Now carefully pop your shape out.

CandleTut5

We were able to get six petals per sheet, which was perfect for one flower.

CandleTut6

For the butterflies, I used two beeswax sheets (ten cut-outs).

To make the flower stems, cut sheets of green in different lengths.  We used a variety of sizes ranging from 3.5 to 7 inches, so they could be close together without bumping against each other like they would if they were all the same height.  I also used a variety of greens on the stems- dark, medium, and light. If you make the stems too tall, they are likely to crack when you press down on them to attach the flowers (unless perhaps you decide to make the stems thicker than we did).

When rolling candles, you want the wax to be nice and warm, so it is flexible and does not crack.  I kept a pot of water simmering on the stove and held my stem wax over it for a few seconds til it felt a little floppy. Once properly flexible, you can press your wick down at one edge and roll tightly.

CandleTut7

Keep your candle holder of choice nearby, so you can check the diameter of the candle to ensure a snug fit.  Leave a long tail on your wick, as you will need to thread your petals with it.

CandleTut8

I rolled until the candle was slightly thicker than the holder.  Then, using two fingers, press the wax together to condense it enough to squeeze it into the holder.  A tight fit is better than a loose fit… no need to set the neighborhood on fire, right?

CandleTut9

Next, grab your wooden skewer and poke a hole through the center of your petal cut outs.  I do them one at a time, then match the first to the second to line them up and so on, to ensure the holes are all uniform and the petals will be centered well when threaded onto the wick.

CandleTut10

Start threading your petals onto the wick, one at a time.  If the wick end gets frayed, just rub your fingers on some beeswax sheet scraps and then smooth the wick with your waxy fingers; it should help the wick thread easier.

CandleTut11

Once you’ve threaded all the petals on, carefully yet firmly press the center of petals down.  You want them to stick firmly, without pressing so hard that the stem bends or cracks.  When the petals are attached, you can begin to gently curve the top layers upward and the bottom layers downward to give them their layered petal look.

CandleTut12

If you like, shape a leaf with your knife or scissors and press onto the stem. 🙂

CandleTut13

For the butterfly, place your cutouts in to equal stacks.  Cut two small pieces of wick just long enough for the candle and antennae.

CandleTut14

Press the second stack onto the first firmly, squishing the middle a bit.  Then, carefully separate the layers a little, so the wings look as if they are fluttering in flight.

CandleTut15

These make wonderfully festive candles for a birthday ring!

CandleTutLast

Couldn’t resist breaking out a birthday spiral too.  Since today is my birthday. 😉

Which means… we need to celebrate!

So… I’m doing a giveaway! It includes…

  • One of these lovely, locally made spirals.  Handcrafted by an Amish neighbor, they utilize a variety of woods to give them a unique, dual-tone effect 
  • 12 brass candleholders and twelve Grimm’s decorations of your choice!
  • A gold 35″ silk from Sarah’s Silks
  • A Create-Your-Own-Assortment Beeswax Sheet Kit with 12 beeswax sheets in your choice of colors, so you can try your hand at some flower candles (or whatever your heart desires!). 

Entry is open to US residents… please leave ONE comment to enter, and if you share on social media, don’t forget to tell me in your comment and you get 3 extra entry points for each share!

Giveaway

Giveaway closes on Sunday night, May 18th at midnight. 

And the winner is Gabi- “Happy birthday to you! Lovely giveaway…can’t wait!”

Congratulations, Gabi 🙂

167 thoughts on “Beeswax Flower Candle Tutorial and Giveaway

  1. What a fabulous giveaway! Plus, a very happy birthday to you!!!

  2. Happy Birthday Rebecca! I am excited to try the flower candles for my daughter’s birthday 🙂 Sharing on fb and my blog 🙂

  3. Happy Birthdat, Rebecca! Thanks for all you do! I’ll share this on my FB now 🙂

  4. What a great idea to make your birthday special. I think it’s good for the kids to see of loving and celebrating ourselves too. Awesome giveaway to boot! Thank you and Happy Birthday to you!

  5. Happy birthday! What a wonderful creative idea! I shared on Facebook!

  6. Shared on the Waldorf Files. 🙂

  7. What an amazing giveaway! Thanks for the chance and lovely tutorial. Happy birthday!
    (Bonus: I shared on Facebook, too!)

  8. So incredibly creative! Have a lovely birthday and thank you for the giveaway!

  9. happy birthday, mama! thanks for all you do! (ps–shared on facebook)

  10. These are beautiful. Definitely saving this on my Pinterest page to do with my kiddos. Hope we win!

  11. I would love love love this!!

  12. Shared on FB

  13. That is just BEAUTIFUL!! Happy Birthday! Shared on FB and Pinterest. 🙂

  14. Love it!

  15. Shared on fb too! 🙂

  16. Awesome!

  17. I would love to have a ring! Thank you! Sharing on my FB page 🙂

  18. Happy Birthday, I hope you have a fabulous day! This looks like so much fun! Shared on facebook, too!

  19. gorgeous! fingers crossed!

  20. Thank you and happy birthday!!

  21. happy birthday! thanks for the opportunity!

  22. Yay! Happy birthday!!!!! And new decorations for the new baby due in December! Thank you!!!! ❤ shareing on FB!

  23. Love love this giveaway! Happy Birthday!
    Shared on my FB

  24. Wow so cool! Hugs! Thank you so so much!!!!

  25. Love the tutorial! We will be making some soon!
    Happy Happy Birthday!!

  26. Happy Birthday and thank you for doing a giveaway! We love Cedar Ring!

  27. It’s my birthday too! What a lovely way to celebrate! Thank you for the tutorial and inspiration!

  28. Happy Birthday! What a beautiful little helper you have!

  29. Such a festive project! Thanks!

  30. I’ve always wanted one here but has seemed a pricey tradition to start. Great fun ideas you posted. Fb share too.

  31. I love this!

  32. Shared on Facebook!

  33. Happy birthday. again. It is very sweet of you to offer this giveaway. I hope to do beeswax candles this Fall. 🙂

  34. Happy birthday! Thanks for this post and chance. I love your blog just lovely.

  35. Lovely! Happy Birthday!!

  36. Happy birthday to you! Lovely giveaway…can’t wait!

  37. Sharing on my FB as well 🙂

  38. It is a lovely craft! Happy Birthday!!

  39. This looks so easy and fun! Thanks!

  40. shared on FB

  41. What a wonderful giveaway and fun tutorial! Happy birthday! I am sharing this on Pinterest.

  42. This giveaway is really lovely! Your beeswax candle flowers are so beautiful! I would love to get the wax sheets alone, but the complete giveaway is amazing. I shared this on my FB page.

  43. Happy happy!

  44. Thanks for the awesome give away!!! I’m sharing this too cause who wouldn’t want the extra points for this lovely gift! Happy birthday again Xoxo

  45. So lovely and happy birthday!

  46. Lovely! Shared on my page. And a happy birthday to you!

  47. What a generous giveaway! Would be amazing to win for my daughter’s birthday this summer 🙂 A very Happy Birthday to you! Shared on FB.

  48. Love those rings. Don’t do social media but I did tell a couple of friends in person.

  49. Happy Birthday! What a generous giveaway. Love the beeswax flowers, can’t wait to make some!
    Shared on Facebook.

  50. What a neat way to use the beeswax sheets! Love the giveaway. Happy B-Day!!!!

  51. Wonderful tutorial, happy birthday, love CRC, and sharing!

  52. Hooray! A giveaway, and happy birthday. Tomorrow is my birthday too. Thank you for such detailed tutorials as well, they always make sense and the pictures are great. Have a nice weekend and enjoy your birthday.

  53. Happy Birthday! Thank you for this giveaway. I also shared on Facebook.

  54. great tutorial and giveaway!

  55. shared on facebook

  56. What beautiful rings and a wonderful giveaway! Thank you!

  57. The flowers are so creative! 🙂 hope u are having a wonderful birthday.

  58. Sharing!!! Beautiful project.

  59. Happy Birthday! Beautiful candles!

  60. Happy Birthday! Awesome tutorial and amazing giveaway! Thrilled, since we don’t have a birthday spiral! Posted on 2 FB pages 🙂

  61. Happy Birthday to you! And thank you, thank you for the lovely giveaway. Blessing on your next trip around the sun 🙂

  62. Just shared on Facebook. 🙂 I would be so thrilled to win this set!

  63. This is sooooooo beautiful. Happy Birthday!

  64. Would love to win this! 🙂 My oldest will be seven in June, this is a great idea for her fairy party, flowers, butterflies and everything sweet party. 🙂 Shared on FB. 🙂

  65. Happy birthday! This is a generous giveaway!

  66. Happy Birthday…Love the giveaway…and I have some cute helpers too. 🙂 Shared on Facebook

  67. How generous of you to be giving away such a lovely gift on YOUR birthday!! Thank you for the chance. I will share on FB. <3!

  68. Thank you for the giveaway! I shared on FB and IG!

    Happy Birthday!! My birthday is May 18! Birthday buddies! 😀

  69. Happy Birthday! I shared on Facebook as well.

  70. Wonderfully giveaway! Shared on Facebook 🙂

  71. What an amazing giveaway! I’ve shared on Facebook, too! Thanks, Becca!

  72. Happy Birthday Rebecca! the flowers are so inspiring! Thank you for the tutorial! Sharing on my FB page too.

  73. Happy Birthday..Make it a good one…Thanks for the lovely give away offer..(Shared on FB)~*

  74. Happy birthday, will share!

  75. Beautiful! I haven’t tried making them that way – thanks for the great tutorial 🙂

  76. Happy birthday! Thanks for the opportunity! Shared on Facebook.

  77. Love this! Just placed my first CRC order!!

  78. Thank you for your generous giveaway!! This is lovely! I also shared it on Facebook!!

  79. The flowers are so beautiful. Can you actually bear to burn them? 🙂
    Thanks for the lovely giveaway.
    Many happy returns on your special day!

  80. Oh, and shared on Facebook!

  81. Happy, happy Birthday! Sharing on FB.

  82. This is just wonderful and so incredibly kind. When I saw your photo prior on Facebook, I thought this is exactly why I need to get into making candles and working with beeswax. I am so happy to now have the tutorial 🙂 I hope you had a wonderful birthday. Thank you for bringing quality (and affordable) Waldorf products into our worlds through CRS.

  83. Happy birthday! Shared 🙂

  84. This looks like so much fun! I love beeswax candles!

    I shared!

    -kim

  85. I LOVE this!!! Happy Happy Birthday! Sharing now 🙂

  86. Happy happy birthday, Rebecca! (How, in all your posts in our homeschool groups, did I not know you had a daughter? I thought you had 3 boys, but a daughter too? Busy with lots of love around you!) What a sweet project! Thanks for the give-away. I shared it on my FB page, too.

  87. Oh how darling!
    I shared on Facebook, too.

  88. This is such a great idea! Thanks to Eva Jackson for the link.

  89. Hope you had a wonderful birthday 🙂 loved the tutorial and shared! Thank you

  90. I would love to win this giveaway! 🙂

  91. Happy Birthday!

  92. Oh, fun. Today is my birthday. Happy birthday to us both:) Thank you for the tutorial.

  93. Happy birthday! What a terrific tutorial and giveaway.

    Jennifer

  94. Happy Birthday, and what a wonderful giveaway! Shared on FB and Pinterest

  95. These are lovely Becca! Happy Birthday!

  96. Happy Birthday! What a GORGEOUS give away!

  97. What a wonderful giveaway! I have shared on Facebook. Happy Birthday!!!!

  98. Happy Birthday! Thanks for the giveaway!

  99. Happy, happy birthday Rebecca!! Hope your angels, seen and unseen, surround you with love. I just love the candle crafts you come is with, this is adorable! I also shared your tutorial and giveaway post on FB to inspire others 🙂

  100. What a fabulous giveaway!! Thank you for the tutorial as well. I pinned your post on Pinterest. Happy Birthday!!

  101. Oh my goodness my daughter’s birthday is coming up in July and this would be unbelievably AMAZING! I love it all – including the tutorial!

  102. Shared on my Mindful Home fb page 🙂

  103. Happy Birthday! I love the beeswax candle flowers – so cute! I shared on FB 🙂

  104. Merriest of Solar Returns to you!
    Thanks for your hard work, I’m so glad your path is going more smoothly now! And thanks for the chance to win!

  105. Happy Birthday! I bet it is wonderful to have a spring birthday. Fingers crossed that I win.

  106. Happy Birthday! What a great tutorial and could your daughter be any cuter?! Thank you for the opportunity to win such a great giveaway!

  107. Thanks for a chance to win!

  108. Oh, and I shared via Pinterest and Facebook.

  109. Lovely! Happy Birthday!

  110. Thank you! Happy Birthday!!

  111. Oh my goodness I love the butterfly candles! And the spiral birthday ring! Hope your birthday was every bit as lovely as this giveaway. 🙂

  112. Happy Birthday! This is an incredible giveaway. Thanks for offering it.

  113. Happy Birthday! Thanks for the giveaway!

  114. I have been wanting an advent ring for several years now and just haven’t been able to shelve out the money for it! This giveaway would be so exciting to receive, thank you!

  115. Love the ideas thanks! I shared on my FB and my blog page on FB! 🙂

  116. Also shared on Facebook.

  117. Happy Birthday, Becca! Best wishes this next year! A lot of bright, new beginnings for you and your family!
    Great craft idea for Spring!

  118. this is lovely!

  119. I hope you had a wonderful Birthday! Such a great craft idea! Thank you for the giveaway

  120. Beautiful birthday ring, thanks for the chance to win!

  121. birthday ring for my preschool would be so beautiful!

  122. Shared it on my blog’s facebook page!

  123. Happy birthday, may your special day be filled with joy, delicious treats, and wonderful company. This giveaway is wonderful, thank you for including us in your celebration.

  124. This looks amazing! My daughter would love to make flowers with me…shared on Facebook
    ,

  125. Hope you have a fabulous birthday! Thanks for the chance ❤

  126. Shares on Facebook

  127. I love the flower candles – thanks for the chance to win a spiral to go along with them!

  128. Happy Birthday. Thank you for offering such a fun giveaway!

  129. So beautiful! Thank you for the opportunity to win.

  130. Awesome giveaway! It’s also my daughter’s birthday.
    I fwd the email to some friends 🙂

  131. This is absolutely beautiful! Hope you had a stupendous birthday!! ❤

  132. Really cute flower candles! Happy Birthday!

  133. I LOVE this tutorial!! Such pretty colors.

  134. Also… I shared your facebook post with my friends as I know many of them will want a chance to win too 🙂 xo Donni

  135. Very lovely! So creative. I have to make some for my daughter’s birthday next week.

  136. Great tutorial – and awesome giveaway! Thanks! ❤

  137. I have ordered from you in the past. Thanks for the great supplies, amazingly fast shipping and beautifully packaged order.

  138. Happy Birthday! These candles are a fantastic idea. I can’t wait to make some like this! Sharing on facebook!

  139. Beautiful! Such a sweet idea 🙂 Shared on Pinterest.

  140. Those candles are beautiful, especially that flower. So creative. Great giveaway.

  141. Happy Birthday to you! Thanks for the chance!

  142. Oooh this is so cute! I’m just starting to try being crafty. I think I can do this! Wonderful directions. Happy birthday, shared on fb.

  143. I hope you had a Happy Birthday!! Maybe I will win for my Birthday on June 5. I also shared on facebook, Twitter, and Google.

  144. Beautiful! Very creative to move beyond just rolling beeswax sheets. Also, happy (belated) birthday!

  145. Happy Birthday. Would love to win this.

  146. great giveaway thank you

  147. A very inspiring birthday gesture! Tomorrow, it will be my birthday, and I wish to grow in creativity and generosity of the heart. Thank you for the love!

  148. Love this! I have two cute helpers that would enjoy making these. Thanks for the tutorial and awesome giveaway!

  149. So cute! I have never seen anything like it! Shared on Facebook, Twitter, and Pinterest!

  150. What a special gift this would be for my soon to be 9 yr old. Awesome tutorial!

  151. Shared on fb

  152. Happy belated! What a neat give-a-way! It would make for a fun family activity. Thanks for the chance.

  153. How kind, thanks!

  154. Truly, truly beautiful and brilliantly dazzling! : ) A trillion thanks for this magically, wonderful giveaway! : )

  155. So beautiful, shared on FB

  156. Such a neat little tutorial. We may need to get some sheets now and make candles.

  157. Happy Birthday and what a wonderful tutorial to learn by…..can’t wait to see if I win~

  158. Lovely tutorial and happy birthday. Shared on FB.

  159. Thank you for such a beautiful giveaway & happy, happy birthday! I will share on FB too 🙂

  160. We have littes with birthdays coming up and this would be a great addition to the festivities.

  161. I hope I’m not too late to enter. Happy Birthday and thanks!

  162. Wonderful giveaway I’ve wanted one of these for years! Happy Birthday 🙂

  163. Yay! So thankful, can’t believe I’m getting my hands on one of those rings (and on anything else!).

Leave a Reply

